Best for email, funnels and courses in one cheap tool
Free up to 2,000 contacts; paid from $17/mo (Startup)
Visit systeme.iosysteme.io, Teachable, Thinkific and Podia priced against Kajabi at $2k and $10k a month, plus what each one drops from Kajabi's bundle.

Best for email, funnels and courses in one cheap tool
Free up to 2,000 contacts; paid from $17/mo (Startup)
Visit systeme.ioBest for selling online courses
7-day free trial; paid from $39/mo (Starter)
Visit TeachableBest for course businesses that want a full LMS
30-day free trial; paid from $54/mo (Basic)
Visit ThinkificAlso covered: Podia
Scroll sideways to see all 12 columns →
| Tool | Pricing | Free plan | Paid from | Price at 10k subs | Paid subscriptions | Automations | API | Custom domain | Transaction fee | Email marketing built in | Community | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free up to 2,000 contacts; paid from $17/mo (Startup) | Up to 2,000 contacts | $17/mo | $47/mo (Webinar) | Visit | ||||||||
| 7-day free trial; paid from $39/mo (Starter) | $39/mo | 7.5% (Starter) | Visit | |||||||||
| 30-day free trial; paid from $54/mo (Basic) | $54/mo | Grow plan and up | 0% (Thinkific Payments); 5% via Stripe on Basic | Visit | ||||||||
| 14-day free trial; paid from $42/mo (Mover) | $42/mo | 5% (Mover) | Visit |
If you want what Kajabi bundles (courses, funnels and unlimited email) for less, systeme.io is the closest match. Its $17/mo Startup plan covers 5,000 contacts and 5 courses with 0% transaction fees, against $179/mo for Kajabi Basic. If you’re selling a programming course, Teachable is the better pick for the course itself, because it has a built-in code block. Either way, budget for the parts of Kajabi’s bundle you lose.
We haven’t run a business on any of these. The numbers come from each vendor’s pricing page and help docs, fetched on 2026-10-12 and listed at the bottom. Kajabi isn’t an affiliate partner of ours. Its pricing page is here.
From Kajabi’s pricing page:
| Basic | Growth | Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly billing | $179/mo | $249/mo | $499/mo |
| Annual billing | $143/mo | $199/mo | $399/mo |
| Products | 5 | 50 | Unlimited |
| Contacts | 2,500 | 25,000 | 100,000 |
| Fee if you use a third-party processor | 2% | 1% | 0.5% |
Marketing emails, funnels and landing pages are unlimited on every plan. Kajabi Payments (US) costs 2.9% + 30¢ on Basic, slightly less on higher plans. Extra contacts cost $125/mo per 25,000. Every plan has a 30-day money-back guarantee.
That’s the bar to beat: $179/mo for up to 5 products and 2,500 contacts, or $249/mo once your list passes 2,500.
Developers and indie makers usually have a few products, a list in the low thousands, and revenue that’s real but not huge. So we priced every tool for one scenario: up to 5 products, about 2,000 contacts, at $2,000/mo and $10,000/mo in revenue, on monthly billing. Each platform uses its own payment processor, so card processing (about 2.9% + 30¢ everywhere) is roughly the same across the board and left out.
| Tool and plan | Platform cost at $2,000/mo | Platform cost at $10,000/mo | Saved per year vs Kajabi Basic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kajabi Basic | $179 | $179 | — |
| systeme.io Startup | $17 | $17 | $1,944 |
| Thinkific Basic (Thinkific Payments) | $54 | $54 | $1,500 |
| Podia Shaker | $84 | $84 | $1,140 |
| Teachable Builder (Teachable Payments) | $89 | $89 | $1,080 |
| Teachable Starter ($39 + 7.5%) | $189 | $789 | Costs more |
Two things stand out:
These are the parts of Kajabi’s bundle that each alternative drops or limits:
| Kajabi includes | systeme.io | Teachable | Thinkific | Podia |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unlimited marketing email | Unlimited emails on all plans | Built-in email; limits not stated on pricing page | Email automation on all plans; limits not stated | Capped: 100 / 500 / 1,000 subscribers |
| Funnels and landing pages | Yes: 10 funnels on Startup, 50 on Webinar | Not a funnel builder | Not a funnel builder | Not a funnel builder |
| 2,500 contacts (Basic) | 5,000 on Startup | Unlimited students | 10,000 current students | Unlimited customers |
| Community | Not shown on pricing page | Builder and up | 1 on Basic | Included on all plans |
The Podia email cap is the gotcha most Kajabi-alternative lists skip. With 2,000 contacts, even Podia’s top plan (1,000 email subscribers, $150/mo) doesn’t hold your list. In practice that means running Podia alongside a separate email tool, for example Kit, whose free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers but excludes automated sequences.
Best for email, funnels and courses in one cheap tool
Pricing: Free up to 2,000 contacts; paid from $17/mo (Startup)
What we like
Watch out for
Closest like-for-like replacement, at a fraction of the price. Funnels, unlimited email, courses and a custom domain are all in one tool, with 0% transaction fees on every plan. At 10,000 contacts it’s $47/mo (Webinar plan, which adds evergreen webinars), against $249/mo for Kajabi Growth. The Free plan (2,000 contacts, 1 course, 500 students) is enough to rebuild one funnel and see whether you’d miss Kajabi. The downside for developers is that the pricing page says nothing about custom code, video hosting limits or API rate limits. Check those before you migrate a course that depends on embeds.

Best for selling online courses
Pricing: 7-day free trial; paid from $39/mo (Starter)
What we like
Watch out for
Best for developers whose main product is a course, especially a programming course. Teachable’s Code Example block shows read-only code with a language dropdown that covers JavaScript, TypeScript, Python, Go, Ruby, PHP, Java and more (not Rust, C/C++ or shell). Builder at $89/mo has 0% platform fees on Teachable Payments and up to 10 products. What it isn’t is a funnel or marketing suite. Expect to bring your own landing pages, or keep them on the site you already have.

Best for course businesses that want a full LMS
Pricing: 30-day free trial; paid from $54/mo (Basic)
What we like
Watch out for
Cheapest fee-free course platform, with a 30-day trial to migrate in. Basic is $54/mo with Thinkific Payments, and the plan includes a community and email automation. Watch two costs. First, if you keep your own Stripe account, Thinkific adds a 5% gateway fee on Basic (2% on Start, 1% on Grow). Second, embedded interactive content, advanced HTML/CSS and the API sit on Start ($109/mo) and Grow ($219/mo).

Best for simple storefront for courses and downloads
Pricing: 14-day free trial; paid from $42/mo (Mover)
What we like
Watch out for
Simplest storefront for courses plus downloads, but a weak Kajabi replacement if email drives your sales. Shaker ($84/mo) removes Podia’s transaction fee and adds Zapier and an affiliate program. Its 500-subscriber email cap means most people leaving Kajabi will need a separate newsletter tool. Ranked last for that reason, not because the storefront is bad.

Staying is the honest answer if most of these are true:
Whichever platform you move to, don’t expect to leave it easily later. Teachable says it has no “native feature that allows you to export a course as a single unit”. Thinkific says it doesn’t offer exporting “an entire course… as one file”, and has no bulk video download. Both export student lists as CSV, but lesson text is copy-and-paste. Keep lesson source in a git repo and master videos in your own storage, so the next move is a re-upload and not a rescue.
Is there a cheaper alternative to Kajabi with the same features? systeme.io is the closest. It bundles funnels, unlimited email and courses from $17/mo (free up to 2,000 contacts), against $179/mo for Kajabi Basic. Check custom code and video limits yourself, since its pricing page doesn’t cover them.
Does Kajabi charge transaction fees? On Kajabi Payments you pay processing only (2.9% + 30¢ in the US on Basic). If you use a third-party processor, Kajabi adds 2% on Basic, 1% on Growth and 0.5% on Pro.
Is systeme.io really free? There is a free plan: 2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, 1 course, 500 students, 1 custom domain and 1 automation rule. Paid plans start at $17/mo.
Can I move my Kajabi course to Teachable or Thinkific? Yes, but expect to re-upload videos and paste lesson text. Plan for the same manual work if you ever leave those platforms too.
Course platformsCode blocks, video limits, transaction-fee break-even math and export lock-in, compared for developers selling a programming course.
Updated Oct 12, 2026